Xycobra Returns (Part 5)

I sighed. What was I going to do about Iola?

I reached school late. WHY?! I have said it before and I shall mention it again. I HATE BEING LATE. My freaky classmates (I don’t know why I keep dissing my class. I have only just recently realised that I am one of them…Don’t make me say it…Okay fine. Nerds) always stare at any latecomers and it’s creepy. I would not be late though, if it wasn’t for Uncle Sipho. As usual he has to scream at any other taxi driver on the road who have overloaded their vehicles, (To the point where people’s faces are smashed flat against the windows, mouths lopsided and everything) even though he’s clearly guilty of the act himself.

However, this morning everyone including the teachers seemed to be standing outside the school gates as if waiting for a member of The Royal Family to arrive. A pathway of students was formed and a red carpet would have been just perfect. I should have known. Xycobra was back. I rolled my eyes.

He arrived on the back of his jet-black motorcycle, riding through the row of students eagerly awaiting his presence. He carefully removed his helmet, then shook his dark hair in slow motion, taking advantage of the light breeze that day. He then smiled his perfect bright smile and in his deep voice uttered the words responsible for making every daft girl in my school swoon and blush.

“Hi beautiful people. I’m baaack,” he drawled. I was doing it again. The excessive eyeball-rolling. Was he serious? HOW WAS EVERYONE FINDING THIS AMUSING?! Okay. It was pretty amusing actually. I was stifling a loud outburst of laughter.

He then caught sight of me standing behind his motorcycle, away from all the other students, casually waiting for him to move.

“Uh, your Royal Highness, I humbly request your permission to move,” I said sarcastically.

He smiled his annoying perfect smile again. I rolled my eyes. (I really need to stop. People are going to think that’s like my trademark or something)

“Hey Sky,” he said softly. “Everyone, let’s hear it for my hero! That’s right, Sky is my HERO!” he shouted, making way for me. The air was immediately filled with cheering and clapping from every student present. Oh, the influence this boy had over everyone.

“Oh, save it for Oprah will you?” I said, pushing him out of the way. Iola immediately appeared at my side, her fists clenched.

“Oh, you just love the attention, don’t you, you damn B***H! Let’s see if you still love it once my fist is in your face!” she screamed, but her punch was stopped in mid-air by Xycobra.

“Whoa, whoa easy there, Iola. What the heck are you doing?” he said. Teachers were already pulling her away and scolding her angrily.

“I don’t need your help!” I lashed out at Xycobra. I stormed off angrily for no apparent reason, then dropped my school bag halfway, ruining the effect. How embarrassing.

3 hours later

“Sky, you’re a real gossip magnet, aren’t you?” Lectra and Pamper were giggling. I smiled. I couldn’t help being happy around them.

“You’re such a bad ass, getting on Iola’s bad si-” her words trailed off as the electricity in the building suddenly shut off.

“Darn Eskom!” was everyone’s immediate response. This is the part where I truly welcome you to South Africa, where power outages are as frequent as new fashion trends. All the time and everywhere. However, it was not Eskom’s fault this time.

“Somebody stole a pylon!”. That was the news going around.

“What!” Volta burst out laughing. “That’s insane, never mind impossible. I think SOMEONE would have noticed that!”

I burst out laughing too. That was a bit far fetched. But, in my beautiful country, I would not erase that theory, nor put it past anyone. The real story though, was that someone stole the bolts and nuts from the base of the pylon (Out of all places!) causing it to collapse from slight winds. THREE PYLONS DOWN. NO ELECTRICITY FOR THREE DAYS STRAIGHT TO MY SUBURB.

Hash tag, Survivor South Africa.

You can take away my lights. You can take away my heater. BUT HANDS OFF MY WIFI!!!

3 Hours later

I was eager to get home that day. I heard someone yelling my name just before I jumped into Uncle Sipho’s taxi. (‘Do they time this to purposely annoy Uncle Sipho?’ I wondered.)

It was Krayden.

“I’m so sorry for the other day man,” he said. “Yeah it was alcohol but that normally doesn’t happen. I really think someone laced it before I could notice,” he explained, looking down in shame. “Anyway, thanks for helping me home and telling my mom. She was worried sick,” he finished, tapping me lightly on the shoulder and then skipping off towards his transport.

Panic surged through my body like the surge that would take place when the electricity was restored to my community.

WHO WOULD DO SOMETHING THAT NASTY AND DANGEROUS??!!
Copyright Aakifah Mahomed 9 June 2014


A note to all readers, if you would like to follow this blog and you do not have a WordPress Account, please click the light pink settings button on the top of the page in the header, and provide your email to receive notifications of new posts!

I will be posting every Sunday, so look out for updates on my Twitter @aakiboo or just follow this blog!

Here’s a link to Part 1 if you’re slightly lost: https://theblossomingfallam.wordpress.com/2014/05/11/the-new-girl-part-1/

A reminder that this story along with all its characters are fictional and are a product of the author’s imagination. Any resemblance to real life people is merely coincidental.
PS. Don’t forget to leave a comment!

xoxo

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Xycobra Returns (Part 5)

Leave a Reply

